Am I?

Am I?

‘Am I depending on J (my loving partner) to more easily navigate white spaces?’ If the answer is yes and I do lean on her to help get through awkward spaces engrossed with huge glaring blue sometimes green  eyes; does this detract from my work as an activist in the world and in my own life. Does this mean I am less confident than I rise to be each and everyday as a Afro/African/Creole-French BLACK woman? I have recently encountered a similar debate on many different social media platforms. The question is usually something along the lines of  “is the act of a black person dating a white person a form of internalized racism” or “can you be a ‘woke’ black person (socially and racially conscious) and share your life with a white person or is this a juxtaposition.”

Leave a Reply

